The NYSC Announces Finalists for 4th Annual Songwriting Contest

16101 New York, November 10, 2009 – The New York Songwriter's Circle (NYSC – today announced the names of the 12 finalists for its fourth annual “Songwriting Contest” and the three finalists for its “Young Songwriters Award.” The NYSC is also proud to announce that Ida Østergaard from Copenhagen, Denmark, is the 2009 recipient of its prestigious “International Writers Award.” The Grand Prize winner will be determined by an esteemed panel of judges at live performances on November 18 and the 19 (8 p.m.) at the legendary Bitter End in New York City. Tickets for both performances can be obtained by going to: The twelve Songwriting Contest finalists are: Barnaby Bright – “Gravity,” Kate Branagh – “Tether,” Caleb Hawley – “Other Side Of It All,” Clara Oman – “Song for Ruthie,” Janet Onyenucheya – “The Element,” Adrien Reju – “When The Curtain Falls,” Martin Rivas – “North,” Bobby Smith – “The Breakup Song,” Chloe Temtchine – “Four Letter Fever,” Justin Tracy – “Secrets,” The Sweet Remains -- "Easy," Reed Waddle – “Piece By Piece.” “Every year we are truly amazed by the incredible songs that are submitted and the stories that inspired them,” said accomplished singer/songwriter and President of the New York Songwriter's Circle, Tina Shafer. “We are very fortunate to have such an outstanding panel of judges to assist in the process and work with us to help... Sign In to Keep Reading

To view this content,

Join Today

or Sign In

The Benefits of Membership:

  • Limited-time FREE Feature Magazine Content
  • Exclusive access to members-only contests and giveaways
Click to Join

We've started a free American Songwriter membership. Click here to learn more.