Robbie Robertson, Buddy Miller Prep New Albums

Two musician’s musicians will release new albums in 2011: Band guitarist and songwriter Robbie Robertson, and roots music master Buddy Miller.

Miller’s The Majestic Silver Strings, featuring guitar slingers Bill Frissell, Marc Ribot, and Greg Liesz, will hit stores March 12 via New West Records, and include a bonus DVD of live performances. The album, which finds Miller tackling his favorite vintage country songs, will feature guest vocals from Emmylou Harris, Patty Griffin, Shawn Colvin, Lee Ann Womack, Chocolate Genius, Ann McCrary and wife Julie Miller.

Robertson’s album, his first since 1998, is also full of special guests, the most surprising of which is Nine Inch Nails auteur Trent Reznor. The new LP, dubbed How To Become Clairvoyant, will arrive in April via 429 records, and features collaborations with Eric Clapton, Robert Randolph, Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello, and Dawes’ vocalist Taylor Goldsmith. Get a preview of the song “When The Night Was Young” here.