ASCAP Pop Music Awards Toast Trent Reznor, Carly Simon, Peter Frampton, Max Martin

ascap pop music awards

ASCAP held their 29th annual Pop Music Awards on April 18 in Los Angeles, where Swedish producer/songwriter Max Martin was deemed Songwriter of the Year. It was his fifth time receiving the Award. In 2011, Martin wrote ten of the most-performed pop songs, including smash hits by Ke$sha, Adam Lambert and Britney Spears.

Song of the Year went to Bruno Mars’ “Just The Way You Are,” which was co-written with Mars’ group The Smeezingtons. Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor picked up the ASCAP Golden Note Award, which recognizes artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones — Reznor has reinvented himself as a film composer (The Social Network, The Girl With The Dragon Tatoo). ”70s Guitar god Peter Frampton was given the Global Impact Award in recognition of his musical legacy, and singer-songwriter Carly Simon earned the ASCAP Founders Award for her timeless discography.

EMI Music Publishing and Warner/Chappell Music shared the Award for Publisher of the Year — each had 18 of the most performed songs in 2011.

Here’s the complete list of winners.