Video Premiere: Sons of Bill, “Bad Dancer”

Sons of Bill

Sometimes simple is better. That’s the approach that Charlottesville rock/Americana quintet Sons of Bill took for their latest video for “Bad Dancer,” shooting live with no frills in band member Seth Green’s basement and letting the song speak for itself. We caught up with James Wilson to find out how they were inspired to write “Bad Dancer,” off their September release Love & Logic.

“Mainly I think it’s just another pop-song about youthful loneliness,” the band’s Wilson explains. “But I think I also wanted to touch on the deeper issues at hand in some small way— the parts of alienation that never really leave us even as we get older, or the way impotent loneliness can harbor an unchecked violence and anxiety. You see this in all sorts of characters throughout literature from Holden Caulfield to Quentin Compson to Odysseus.”


Tour Dates:

Wed 11/12/14 Bootleg Theater – Los Angeles, CA

Fri 11/14/14 Soda Bar – San Diego, CA

Sat 11/15/14 Lobero Theatre – Santa Barbara, CA

Sun 11/16/14 Great American Music Hall – San Francisco, CA

Tue 11/18/14 Tractor Tavern – Seattle, WA

Wed 11/19/14 Mississippi Studios – Portland, OR

Thu 11/20/14 Stage 112 – Missoula, MT

Fri 11/21/14 Live From The Divide – Bozeman, MT

Sat 11/22/14 Lost Lake Lounge – Denver, CO

Tue 12/11/14 The Parlor on Granby – Norfolk, VA

Fri  12/12/14 Bourgie Nights – Wilmington, NC

Sat 12/13/14 The Pour House – Charleston, SC

Tue 12/23/14 Jefferson Theater – Charlottesville, VA

Fri 12/26/14 Southland Ballroom – Raleigh, NC

Thur 2/05/15 Poppodium Grenswerk – Venlo, Netherlands

Sat 2/07/15 Molotow Bar – Hamburg, Germany

Sun 2/08/15 Bang Bang Club – Berlin, Germany

Mon 2/09/15 Ampere – Munchen, Germany

Tue 2/10/15 Luxor – Koln, Germany

Wed 2/11/15 QBus – Cologne, Germany

Thur 2/12/15 Metropool – Hengelo, Netherlands

Sat 2/14/15 The Bullingdon – Oxford, United Kingdom

Sun 2/15/15 Railway Inn – Winchester, United Kingdom

Mon 2/16/15 The Tunnels – Bristol, United Kingdom

Wed 2/18/15 Brudenell Social Club – Leeds, United Kingdom

Thur 2/19/15 Stereo – Glasgow, United Kingdom

Fri 2/20/15 The Cluny – Newcastle, United Kingdom

Sat 2/21/15 The Maze – Nottingham, United Kingdom

Mon 2/23/15 Hoxton Bar & Kitchen – London, United Kingdom