Jason Isbell, Lucinda Williams and Chris Stapleton Lead Americana Awards Nominations

unnamed (10)
(L-R) Ethan Jodziewicz, Sierra Hull, Kenneth Pattengale, Lucinda Williams, Joey Ryan, Margo Price, Jed Hilly. Photo by Sarah Como

Jason Isbell, the Alabama-born singer-songwriter whose 2013 album Southeastern established him as one of the guiding lights in American roots music, nabbed three Americana award nominations Wednesday night for his work on his latest release, Something More Than Free.

The former Drive-By Trucker garnered nominations for Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, and Song of the Year (“24 Frames”). The nominations were announced in Washington, D.C. at an invitation-only event presented by MusicFIRST, an organization that advocates for fair compensation for musical creators.

Lucinda Williams, whose latest album The Ghosts of Highway 20 stands as a late-career high-water mark for the swampy-folk songstress, received two nominations, as did country crooner Chris Stapleton for his work on last year’s Traveller.

The winners will be announced during the Americana Honors and Awards show on September 21 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. For more information, click here.

A full list of categories and nominees is below:

Album of the Year

Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, Produced by Dave Cobb

The Ghosts of Highway 20, Lucinda Williams, Produced by Greg Leisz, Tom Overby and Lucinda Williams

The Very Last Day, Parker Millsap, Produced by Parker Millsap and Gary Paczosa

Traveller, Chris Stapleton, Produced by Dave Cobb and Chris Stapleton

Artist of the Year

Jason Isbell

Bonnie Raitt

Chris Stapleton

Lucinda Williams

Duo/Group of the Year

Alabama Shakes

Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell

Lake Street Dive

The Milk Carton Kids

Tedeschi Trucks Band

Emerging Artist of the Year

Leon Bridges

John Moreland

Margo Price

Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats

Song of the Year

“24 Frames” Jason Isbell

“Dime Store Cowgirl” Kacey Musgraves

“Hands Of Time” Margo Price

“S.O.B.”  Nathaniel Rateliff & The Nightsweats

Instrumentalist of the Year 

Cindy Cashdollar

Stuart Duncan

Jedd Hughes

Sara Watkins