Jack White, Norah Jones, Jason Isbell Featured On Beck’s Song Reader Album

Beck Song Reader

Beck‘s well-loved song reader — a series of twenty instrumental compositions previously released exclusively as sheet music — will soon be coming to life with through the talents of Jack White, Jeff Tweedy, Fun., Jason Isbell, Nora Jones, Jack Black, Eleanor Friedberger, and several more artists including, Beck himself. The album will be released on July 29 alongside a new edition of the the illustrated Song Reader book, featuring two new prints by artist Marcel Dzama.

Accompanying the release of the Song Reader album, Warby Parker will be celebrating the event by selling a commemorative pair of Carmichael frame glasses with two-toned lenses “in a design inspired by Beck’s genre-bending music and unimpeachable personal style.” The proceeds from both the album and the limited-edition frames will go to 826 National, a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping students, ages 6–18, with expository and creative writing at eight locations nationwide.  

The complete track listing for Beck’s Song Reader is as follows:

1.  Moses Sumney – “Title of this Song”
2.  Fun – “Please Leave A Light On When You Go”
3.  Tweedy – “The Wolf is on the Hill”
4.  Norah Jones – “Just Noise”
5.  Lord Huron – “Last Night You Were A Dream”
6.  Bob Forrest – “Saint Dude”
7.   Jack White – “I’m Down”
8.   Beck – “Heaven’s Ladder”
9.  Juanes – “Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard”
10.  Laura Marling – “Sorry”
11.  Jarvis Cocker – “Eyes That Say ‘I Love You'”
12.  David Johansen – “Rough On Rats”
13.  Jason Isbell – “Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings”
14.  The Last Polka – “Marc Ribot”
15.  Eleanor Friedberger – “Old Shanghai”
16.  Sparks – “Why Did You Make Me Care?”
17.  Swamp Dogg – “America, Here’s My Boy”
18.  Jack Black – “We All Wear Cloaks”
19.  Loudon Wainwright III – “Do We? We Do”
20.  Gabriel Kahane & yMusic – “Mutilation Rag”