PJ Harvey: The Hope Six Demolition Project

PJ Harvey The Hope Six Demolition Project (Island/Vagrant) Rating: 4.5 Stars out of 5 The title of PJ Harvey’s ninth album, The Hope Six Demolition Project, suggests a kind of experiment — a performance art piece, perhaps, or the site of a scientific testing ground. To a degree, the making of the album actually was born of experimentation: initial tracking for the album was done in a custom-built studio in London, where the public could witness the making of the album. And from there, Harvey made a trek around the globe for inspiration, with stops in Kosovo, Afghanistan and Washington, D.C. Not coincidentally, The Hope Six Demolition Project is Harvey’s most globally focused album. In first single “The Wheel,” Harvey reflects on the refugee crisis and the history of ethnic cleansing in Kosovo, setting a grim scenario to one of the song’s catchiest melodies. Meanwhile, in leadoff track “The Community of Hope,” she shines a light on a neglected civilization:  “Here’s the highway to death and destruction … and the school just looks like a shithole,” before lamenting, “they’re gonna put a Walmart here.” Harvey has never been so explicitly political on past albums, but even here, she’s an observer…

To view this content,

Join Today

or Sign In

The Benefits of Membership:

  • Subscription to the American Songwriter Print Magazine
  • Access to all Feature Magazine Content Online
  • Access to Print Edition Archives
  • Premium content in our Songwriter U section
  • Discounts on vinyl, Songwriter services, and other American Songwriter Partners
  • Exclusive access to members-only contests and giveaways
Click to Join

We've started an American Songwriter membership! Click here to learn more.