David Rawlings Preps New Album Poor David’s Almanack; Reveals August Tour Dates

David Rawlings, acoustic guitar marvel and longtime musical partner of Gillian Welch, will release a new solo album this fall titled Poor David’s Almanack.

The album features ten new songs and drops August 11 on Acony Records, the label owned and run by Welch and Rawlings.

Poor David’s Almanack marks Rawlings’ third proper solo effort, with his last two releases (A Friend Of A Friend and Nashville Obsolete) being issued under the Dave Rawlings Machine moniker.

Rawlings is joined by Welch on the new album, which features both acoustic and electric instrumentation. Other contributors include (former Old Crow Medicine Show member) Willie Watson, Paul Kowert (Punch Brothers), Brittany Haas, Ketch Secor (Old Crow Medicine Show), and Taylor and Griffin Goldsmith of Dawes.

Ken Scott (The Beatles, David Bowie) and Matt Andrews oversaw the week-long analog recording session at Woodland Sound Studios in Nashville.

Track list
01 Midnight Train
02 Money Is The Meat In The Coconut
03 Cumberland Gap
04 Airplane
05 Lindsey Button
06 Come On Over My House
07 Guitar Man
08 Yup
09 Good God A Woman
10 Put ‘Em Up Solid

Check out August tour dates here.