Sturgill Simpson Announces New Album Sound & Fury And Accompanying Film

Sturgill Simpson
Photo by Semi Song

On Tuesday, Sturgill Simpson announced plans to release a new album, Sound & Fury, via Elektra on September 27. Simpson also revealed that an accompanying anime film will release on Netflix on the same day. 

Simpson recorded Sound & Fury, which he self-produced, in Waterford, MI, at the McGuire Motor Inn. In tandem with the album announcement, he shared the first taste of Sound & Fury via new song “Sing Along.”

The official video for “Sing Along” offers a preview of the Sound & Fury Netflix film, which was directed by famed filmmaker Jumpei Mizusaki. According to press materials announcing the project, the forthcoming film “is set entirely to the album’s music with a different anime segment for each individual song.”

Listen to “Sing Along” and see the full Sound & Fury tracklist below.

Sound & Fury tracklist:

  1. Ronin
  2. Remember To Breathe
  3. Sing Along
  4. A Good Look
  5. Make Art Not Friends
  6. Best Clockmaker On Mars
  7. All Said And Done
  8. Last Man Standing
  9. Mercury In Retrograde
  10. Fastest Horse In Town