Emerson Hart, Lead Singer of Tonic, Releases Title Track From ’32 Thousand Days’

Emerson Hart, acclaimed singer-songwriter and lead singer of Tonic, releases the title track from his upcoming solo album 32 Thousand Days. The plaintive and poetic track pairs a soft and steady beat with delicate strumming that offers up a direct tribute to his stepfather’s 32,000 days.

Videos by American Songwriter

We often hear of writers setting out to pen the “great American novel” as an ode to an epoch of history to which they can speak at length. By the same token, Emerson Hart assembled a sonic version of “great American novel in the form of his third full-length titled 32 Thousand Days out December 13, 2019.

Hart’s upcoming album tells the great American story of his 93-year-old stepfather (Arthur) who is a New York City native, lied about his age to join the merchant marines at 16-years-old and fought bravely in World War II. Hart takes the listener on a journey by examining the myriad of Arthur’s experiences during his life as well as his own.

“He’s a big reason for my career in music,” says the Nashville-based singer and songwriter. “When I was a teenager, he gave me a lot of freedom. At times when he should’ve been having a talk with me, he’d just give me twenty bucks and say, ‘Go buy some music’-and I would. He knew when to let me find myself. That persistence carried me through my career and so this album is inspired by his 93 years of living and what that might look like if I try to look through his lens.”

Emerson is no stranger to penning hits over his 25-year career creating works of art that resonate with fans and quickly become classics. He fronts the multi-platinum GRAMMY® Award-nominated alternative rock institution Tonic that has racked up six Top 10 singles including “If You Could Only See,” which was the #1 most-played rock song of 1998. Tonic has sold over 4 million records, received multiple Grammy nominations, and toured the world. In addition to Tonic, Emerson built a growing solo discography. 2007’s Cigarettes & Gasoline garnered tastemaker praise and yielded two Top 20 singles. In 2014, Beauty In Disrepair arrived as a fan and critical favorite lauded by USA Today, Huffington Post, Guitar World, and many more. Following a rigorous tour cycle, he buckled down at his Nashville studio and set about crafting 32 Thousand Days in early 2018.

32 Thousand Days- Track Listing

  1. Lucky One
  2. First to Love
  3. It’s True
  4. She Makes It Rain
  5. I Get You
  6. Island
  7. Lights Out
  8. When I had You
  9. Amen
  10. Ageless
  11. Disposable
  12. Old Friend
  13. Kids
  14. 32 Thousand Days

Billy Strings announces Spring tour dates