Neil Young Releasing Acoustic Album Peace Trail

Neil Young 2016
Photo credit: Julie Gardner

The always prolific Neil Young will release Peace Trail, his 36th proper studio album, on December 2 via Reprise Records.

Videos by American Songwriter

As Rolling Stone reports, the LP is mostly made up of acoustic recordings Young wrote this year after the release of his live album Earth with Promise of the Real. It will feature songs like the intriguingly titled “Terrorist Suicide Hang Gliders” and “Indian Giver,” which was released in September. The latter track is protest song aimed at the ongoing Dakota Access Pipeline conflict.

Peace Trail was recorded at Rick Rubin’s Shangri-la Studios with renowned session musicians Jim Keltner (drums) and Paul Bushnell (bass). Just like 2015’s The Monsanto Years, Young co-produced the album with longtime collaborator John Hanlon, who’s worked with Young numerous time since 1990’s Ragged Glory.

The album will be released on CD, cassette, and digitally through Young’s high-quality service Pono. A vinyl pressing will be released in January.

Watch the video for Young’s “Indian Giver” and see the full track listing below.


Neil Young’s Peace Trail Track Listing:

01 Peace Trail
02 Can’t Stop Workin’
03 Indian Givers
04 Show Me
05 Texas Rangers
06 Terrorist Suicide Hang Gliders
07 John Oaks
08 My Pledge
09 Glass Accident
10 My New Robot

For more Neil Young stories, click here.

Klotz Joe Bonamassa Signature Guitar Cable