Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes Set For November Release


Videos by American Songwriter

Elvis Costello, Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes), Jim James and Marcus Mumford have teamed up with producer T Bone Burnett for Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes, a collaborative album based on recently discovered lyrics from Bob Dylan’s 1967 The Basement Tapes sessions. The album releases via Electromagnetic Recordings/Harvest Records on November 11.

The album was recorded over the course of two weeks at Capitol Studios in Hollywood and features 20 never-before-recorded songs from one of Dylan’s most celebrated albums.

“What transpired during those two weeks was amazing for all of us,” Burnett said in a press release. “There was a deep well of generosity and support in the studio at all times, which reflected the tremendous trust and generosity shown by Bob in sharing these lyrics with us in the first place.”

Following the release of the record, an accompanying documentary (Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued) will premiere on Showtime on November 21. The documentary is directed by Sam Jones, of Wilco I Am Trying to Break Your Heart fame, and will feature ” an exclusive and intimate look at the making of Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes set against the influential and historical cultural backdrop of Bob Dylan’s original Basement Tapes.”

Pre-order packages are available here.

The complete track listing for the 20-song deluxe edition of Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes is as follows:

1. Down On The Bottom
2. Married To My Hack
3. Kansas City
4. Spanish Mary
5. Liberty Street
6. Nothing To It
7. Golden Tom – Silver Judas
8. When I Get My Hands On You
9. Duncan and Jimmy
10. Florida Key
11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
12. Lost On The River #12
13. Stranger
14. Card Shark
15. Quick Like A Flash
16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16
17. Diamond Ring
18. The Whistle Is Blowing
19. Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)
20. Lost On The River #20

Leave a Reply

Free Download: The Muse September 2014 Sampler