Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame Announces 2024 Inductees

The 2024 inductees into the Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame have been announced. Among the class of honorees are Eric Johnson, Jack Ingram, Jon Randall, Ruthie Foster, and Terry McBride.

Videos by American Songwriter

A part of the Austin-based Texas Heritage Songwriters Association, the Hall of Fame, and the association as a whole, seeks to honor and celebrate the state’s songwriters who have “played an important role in defining and interpreting Texas’ distinctive culture,” according to their website.

Austin-born guitar virtuoso, Johnson made waves with his impressive instrumental “Cliffs of Dover” in 1990 and has remained one of Texas’ greats. The Woodlands, Texas-hailing country artist, Ingram has been a mainstay in the Nashville music scene, but his Texas roots are evident in his work.

Ingram alongside fellow inductee and acclaimed singer-songwriter-producer, Jon Randall, the pair released the 2021 joint project The Marfa Tapes with Miranda Lambert. The Gause, Texas-born singer-songwriter, Ruthie Foster, has been a longtime purveyor of blues and gospel blues, performing alongside greats like the Blind Boys of Alabama and the Allman Brothers Band. Country artist and Lampasas native Terry McBride has written many a hit for artists like Brooks & Dunn and Reba McEntire.

The annual Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame Awards Show will be held on February 24, 2024, at 3TEN ACL LIVE on Willie Nelson Blvd in Austin, Texas. The ceremony will close out the Texas Heritage Songwriters Association’s Homecoming Weekend celebration that sees one-of-a-kind performances and exclusive showcases ahead of the main Hall of Fame event.

The induction ceremony for the honorees includes special tributes, celebrations, and performances to honor and celebrate the Hall’s newest members. Performers will be announced at a later date. Past performers have included Kasey Musgraves, Tyler Hubbard, Emmylou Harris, Lee Ann Womack, Eric Church, Maren Morris, Shooter Jennings, Jessi Colter, Toby Keith, and many more beloved artists with ties to Texas and beyond.

The 2024 inductees will be joining legends like Kris Kristofferson, Rodney Crowell, Billy Joe Shaver, Willie Nelson, Guy Clark, Clint Black, Robert Earl Keen, Lyle Lovett, Ronnie Dunn, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Steve Earle, Jerry Jeff Walker, Lightnin’ Hopkins, and Nanci Griffith who have been inducted into the coveted Hall over the years.

Photo by Gary Miller/WireImage

Leave a Reply

New Song Saturday! Hear New Tracks From Ben Harper, Lana Del Rey, Belinda Carlisle, and More