The Twilight Saga: New Moon Soundtrack



Chop Shop/Atlantic


After being moved up four days ahead of release schedule because of high demand, the soundtrack for the latest movie in the Twilight Saga, New Moon, hit stores and online merchants on October, 16th. Kicked off with “Meet Me On The Equinox” by Death Cab for Cutie, the album has a clean and crisp indie rock sound and, yet, mixes with the melodic and electronic sounds of Lykke Li and Thom Yorke quite beautifully.

Featuring 15 tracks, at least 12 of them great, it’s no wonder how this album, like the series’ first soundtrack, soared straight to the top of Billboard charts last week. The Saga’s soundtracks are the first soundtrack and sequel to both reach the number one position in the Billboard Top 200.

The entire album has a dark melodic feel to it – akin to the style of the Saga itself. It is pleasantly complimented by the more upbeat track: “I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)” by Muse. The tempo of the album is a bit slower, but it is far from slow itself. All of the music featured on the soundtrack is original and exclusive to the soundtrack. About half of the tracks feature acoustic guitars with or without drums, while the rest are a blend of indie, alternative, and just plain ole’ rock.

“Done All Wrong” by Black Rebel Motorcycle Club is a wonderful acoustic track and its rustic feel coincides nicely with the rest of the album. Other tracks to definitely check out are “A White Demon Love Song” by The Killers and “Monsters” by Hurricane Bells. Pay attention to Sea Wolf’s “The Violet Hour” to catch one of the soundtrack’s more upbeat songs. If you’re a fan of Twilight, don’t miss the last track by the film’s score composer, Alexandre Desplat, aptly titled “New Moon [The Meadow].”

Overall, the album is probably worth what you’ll end up forking over for it. It never clashes with itself, which is something many soundtracks, seemingly, can’t avoid. With so many good songs, you’ll hardly notice the one or two worth skipping.