Listen: Katy Kirby Previews Sophomore Album with Hypnotic Indie Rock Gem “Table”

Singer/songwriter Katy Kirby is back with an electrifying preview of her second studio album, due next year. Released today (October 24), “Table” mixes intimate storytelling with bold, fuzzy electric guitar-driven accompaniment. 

Videos by American Songwriter

Penned by Kirby and producer Logan Chung, the track poetically paints a detailed scene, lightly sprinkled with poetic, religion-themed imagery. That storyline is echoed in the song’s music video, which nods to her experience as a homeschooled evangelical Christian.

In a statement, Kirby calls the song “a thematic outlier on this record, and more of a lighthearted leftover from my god-haunted past life—it’s the last on the album and sort of serves as an epilogue or outro for the rest of the songs. Most importantly, it’s quite fun to sing.”

“Table” is the lead single from Kirby’s upcoming sophomore record, Blue Raspberry, which is set for release on January 26. The album is the gifted singer/songwriter’s first LP since signing to ANTI- and features 11 new tracks, including her recent single “Cubic Zirconia.”


In 2021, she dropped her stellar debut record, Cool Dry Place, an intimate collection of songs that earned widespread critical acclaim. Since its release, Kirby has toured alongside fellow songsmiths Andy Shauf and Waxahatchee and relocated from Nashville to New York City. 

With Blue Raspberry, the Texas native finds herself in a new chapter of personal and creative evolution. The heartfelt, raw, and reflective lyricism that defined Cool Dry Place returns stronger than ever, as displayed in each line of “Table.”

[RELATED: Power Duo Plains (Waxahatchee and Jess Williamson) Drop Single “Abilene” from Collaborative Album]

This February, Kirby will embark on a lengthy headlining tour supporting Blue Raspberry. She’ll make stops in Washington D.C., Austin, Seattle, Denver, and Nashville before wrapping up the trek with a performance in New York City on March 8. 

Rising indie rock artist Allegra Krieger will serve as support on select acts. Fans can find a complete list of concert dates and information on ticketing options by visiting Katy Kirby’s official website.

Watch the official music video for “Table,” directed by Lane Rodges, below:

Blue Raspberry Track List

1. “Redemption Arc”

2. “Fences”

3. “Cubic Zirconia”

4. “Hand to Hand”

5. “Wait Listen”

6. “Drop Dead”

7. “Party of the Century”

8. “Alexandria”

9. “Salt Crystal”

10. “Blue Raspberry”

11. “Table”

Photo by Tonje Thilesen, Courtesy of ANTI-

Leave a Reply

From Reggae to Costello Co-writes: 6 Underrated Gems in Paul McCartney’s Solo Discography