Kip Moore Drops “Damn Love” with New Album Announcement

This year’s sweltering summer sing-along has arrived early by way of country star Kip Moore’s “Damn Love.”

Videos by American Songwriter

The title track of his recently announced fifth studio album, “Damn Love” is a been-there-done-that kind of love song that has the singer eager to fall in love again. Country-pop sensibilities mingle with ’80s synths for a sound that’s both old-school and next-best-thing. The singable lyrics are full of infectious, crowd-pleasing woahs set to soundtrack a good time.

It’s young, crazy, stupid / It’s two kids and cupid / Target on a heart, arrow right through it / It’s wild, reckless, dumb / Hitchhike, hold out your thumb / Don’t know no better, got the tattoo to prove it, he sings of love’s seduction, reiterating in the song’s chorus, It’ll heal, it’ll kill, it’ll hurt / I hope you’re tough / Damn love…

The song is the only track on Moore’s forthcoming album that he didn’t have a hand in writing. “Damn Love” was penned by producer Jaren Johnston, Jason Gantt and James McNair.

“I’ve always had a nomadic spirit, at the core of me that’s what I am, and it’s a beautiful life I lead – I don’t take that for granted,” Moore said of his upcoming release in a statement. “But I still crave that companionship down deep in my DNA, and that’s where Damn Love comes from. There’s a reason love and relationships have been written about so much – and why they continue to get written about. Because at the core of us, that’s what we desire the most.”

Last year saw Moore take another swing at love in the one-off song, “If I Was Your Lover,” in which he enlisted the help of fellow country artist Morgan Wade to star in the tune’s sultry music video.

Check out Moore’s new song “Damn Love” below. His fifth album of the same name is set for release on April 28.

Damn Love Track List:

1. “Damn Love”
2. “Kinda Bar”
3. “Neon Blue”
4. “The Guitar Slinger”
5. “Heart On Fire”
6. “Another Night In Knoxville”
7. “Silver And Gold”
8. “Peace & Love”
9. “Sometimes She Stays”
10. “Some Things”
11. “One Heartbeat” feat. Ashley McBryde
12. “Mr. Simple”
13. “Micky’s Bar”

‘Damn Love’ cover art / Courtesy of Green Room PR

Leave a Reply

Meet the Writer Behind “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen