Sturgill Simpson’s New Album, A Sailor’s Guide to Earth, Will Drop in April

Photo by Reto Sterchi
Photo by Reto Sterchi

At long last, Sturgill Simpson has announced details of a follow-up to his wildly successful 2014 sophomore album Metamodern Sounds in Country Music. A Sailor’s Guide to Earth is set for an April 15 release via Atlantic Records, his first album for the label. Simpson produced the nine song collection, which includes eight original tunes and a cover of the classic Nirvana song “In Bloom.” He recorded the album at Nashville’s The Butcher Shoppe with engineer David Ferguson, and brought in additional musicians, including special guests The Dap-Kings. According to Simpson, the album is a letter to his first child.

Videos by American Songwriter

Simpson shared a new track from the album, “Brace for Impact (Live a Little).” He also announced a number of new North American tour dates, with more dates to be announced in the future.

Listen to “Brace for Impact (Live a Little)” and check out the album’s track list and Simpson’s tour dates below.

1. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)
2. Breakers Roar
3. Keep It Between The Lines
4. Sea Stories
5. In Bloom
6. Brace For Impact (Live A Little)
7. All Around You
8. Oh Sarah
9. Call To Arms

May 5—Austin, TX—Austin City Limits Live at the Moody Theater
May 6—Austin, TX—Austin City Limits Live at the Moody Theater
May 7—Dallas, TX—The Bomb Factory
May 10—Houston, TX—White Oak Music Hall
May 11—Oklahoma City, OK—Criterion Theater
May 16—Lexington, KY—Lexington Opera House
May 17—Lexington, KY— Lexington Opera House
May 18—Chattanooga, TN—Tivoli Theater
May 20—Knoxville, TN—Tennessee Theater
May 21—Indianapolis, IN—Egyptian Room – Old National Centre
May 22—Louisville, KY—Louisville Palace
June 2—Royal Oak, MI—Royal Oak Theatre
June 3—Chicago, IL—Riviera Theatre
June 4—Milwaukee, WI—Riverside Theater
June 5—Minneapolis, MN—First Avenue

The legendary Alan Jackson reflects on the day his marriage almost fell apart