The NYSC Announces Finalists for 4th Annual Songwriting Contest

Videos by American Songwriter


New York, November 10, 2009 – The New York Songwriter’s Circle (NYSC – today announced the names of the 12 finalists for its fourth annual “Songwriting Contest” and the three finalists for its “Young Songwriters Award.” The NYSC is also proud to announce that Ida Østergaard from Copenhagen, Denmark, is the 2009 recipient of its prestigious “International Writers Award.” The Grand Prize winner will be determined by an esteemed panel of judges at live performances on November 18 and the 19 (8 p.m.) at the legendary Bitter End in New York City. Tickets for both performances can be obtained by going to:

The twelve Songwriting Contest finalists are: Barnaby Bright – “Gravity,” Kate Branagh – “Tether,” Caleb Hawley – “Other Side Of It All,” Clara Oman – “Song for Ruthie,” Janet Onyenucheya – “The Element,” Adrien Reju – “When The Curtain Falls,” Martin Rivas – “North,” Bobby Smith – “The Breakup Song,” Chloe Temtchine – “Four Letter Fever,” Justin Tracy – “Secrets,” The Sweet Remains — “Easy,” Reed Waddle – “Piece By Piece.”

“Every year we are truly amazed by the incredible songs that are submitted and the stories that inspired them,” said accomplished singer/songwriter and President of the New York Songwriter’s Circle, Tina Shafer. “We are very fortunate to have such an outstanding panel of judges to assist in the process and work with us to help launch the careers of artists who deserve to be recognized.”

New for 2009, the three finalists selected for the “Young Songwriter Award” were chosen by voters on the social networking and online gaming The finalists competing for the award are: 15-year-old Ali Brustofski of New York, NY; 17-year-old Aubrey Caswell of Thousand Oaks, CA; and 17-year-old Maddie Georgi from Pittsburgh, PA. Music lovers, fans and friends are encouraged to listen to the submissions and vote online exclusively Voting is open through November 8th at 11:59 p.m. EST. The “Young Songwriters Award” winner will be chosen by FFG voters and announced on November 19th at the NYSC’s live grand finale event at the Bitter End.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

News Roundup: Miranda Lambert, Dirty Projectors, Kinks, Kenny Chesney