Chris Stapleton Announces New Album ‘Higher,’ Shares “White Horse”

Fans won’t have to wait much longer for a batch of new music from Chris Stapleton. The celebrated singer-songwriter is set to release his fifth studio album, Higher, on November 10. The 14-track LP marks the country star’s first new full-length project since the release of Starting Over in 2020, which won Best Country Album at the 64th annual Grammy Awards. 

Videos by American Songwriter

Stapleton co-produced the project with his wife and fellow musician, Morgane Stapleton, alongside longtime creative collaborator Dave Cobb. He’s accompanied by bassist J.T. Cure, Paul Franklin on pedal steel, drummer Derek Mixon, and Lee Pardini on organ and piano. Cobb also contributes acoustic and electric guitar on the record, while Morgane Stapleton provides backing vocals, tambourine, and synthesizer. 

Recorded at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A, Higher looks to continue Stapleton’s meteoric rise to stardom that has continued to evolve and grow since the release of his groundbreaking 2015 solo debut, Traveller

To coincide with the album announcement, Stapleton shared his new single “White Horse,” which he co-wrote with Dan Wilson. Listen below:

Ahead of Higher’s release, Stapleton will spend most of the coming weeks on the road, including multiple support dates for George Strait’s limited stadium tour. He’s also set to perform a string of sold-out concerts for his 2023 All-American Road Show Tour through the end of October. The upcoming stretch of headlining shows includes opening sets from Marty Stuart, The War & Treaty, Marcus King, Allen Stone, Margo Price, Nikki Lane, and Charley Crockett.

Chris Stapleton, Higher Track List:

1. “What Am I Gonna Do”

2. “South Dakota”

3. “Trust”

4. “It Takes a Woman”

5. “The Fire”

6. “Think I’m In Love With You”

7. “Loving You on My Mind”

8. “White Horse”

9. “Higher”

10. “The Bottom”

11. “The Day I Die”

12. “Crosswind”

13. “Weight of Your World”

14. “Mountains of My Mind”

Photo Credit: Becky Fluke

Leave a Reply

Ice Spice to Release Deluxe Edition of Her Debut EP, ‘Like..?’

Code Orange Releases New Single and Music Video Featuring Billy Corgan