Daily Discovery: Sturdy Girls Records

Videos by American Songwriter

ARTIST: Sturdy Girls Records (Grant Gustafson, Jonathan “Rainman” Rainville, Jonathon Childers, and Joe Aiello)

SONG: “Hobnobbin'” by Reid Magette and the 1020’s

BIRTHDATE: October 22nd, 2011

BIRTHPLACE: Nashville, TN 37206

AMBITIONS: To put out rad tunes for rad dudes.

TURN-OFFS: Broken tape duplicators, decks that eat tapes, and when Joe shaves his mustache.

TURN-ONS: Men who listen, no separation of eyebrows, and Tommy Bahama.

DREAM GIG: Putting out John Lennon’s next album.


1. Olive oil or butter in a pan
2. Sautee onions and peppers
3. Serve Joe onions
4. Pour 1 can of Bill Martin’s unseasoned black beans over peppers and onions
5. Steam tortillas over beans, peppers, and onions
6. Butter separate pan and scramble eggs
7. Serve Joe eggs and tortilla– “NO BEANS”
8. Serve everyone else
9. Sriracha/Frank’s Buffalo Wing Sauce/Spicy Brown Mustard that shit
10. Let Childers roll everyone’s burritos
11. Enjoy

CELEBRITY CRUSH: Scarlett Johanssen

THE BEST WAY TO GET A WOMAN’S ATTENTION: is with a “Sturdy Girls” commemorative denim jacket.

5 PEOPLE I’D MOST LIKE TO HAVE DINNER WITH: Scarlett Johansenn and four of her clones, Joe gets two.


Grant: Sonic Nurse by Sonic Youth
Rainman: Quichenight II by Quichenight
Childers: http://cajunradio.net/listen-live/
Joe: T. Rust

Sturdy Girls Records is an East Nashville collective of artists that release physical copies of their music (and songs from their friends) on cassette with digital downloads included. Like “Hobnobbin'” by Reid Magette and the 1020’s

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Jamey Johnson To Release Star-Studded Hank Cochran Tribute Album