Matthew Sweet, Susanna Hoffs and Friends Head Back “Under The Covers”

Videos by American Songwriter


In 2006, Bangles singer/guitarist Susanna Hoffs teamed with power pop musician Matthew Sweet to record Under the Covers, a series of duets of their favorite songs from the 1960s and ‘70s.  Last year, the duo reunited in Los Angeles to begin work on a follow up album.  Shout Factory’s Under the Covers, Vol. 2, is now scheduled for release on July 21 and will feature sixteen more of the duo’s favorite classic tracks, with an additional ten tracks featured on the bonus edition download.

About the track selection, Hoffs said, “The records that we cover are records we love.  There’s out-of-tune singing, out-of-tune guitars, the drum tracks are speeding up and slowing down. Those records are great because they’re about the feel; they capture the emotion and they’re not about perfection.”

In addition to the duo’s singing, Vol. 2 features guest spots from Mick Fleetwood, Dhani Harrison, and Steve Howe from Yes as Hoffs and Sweet cover Fleetwood Mac’s “Second Hand News,” George Harrison’s “Beware of Darkness,” and Yes’ ”I’ve Seen All Good People” respectively. They also work t Grateful Dead’s “Sugar Magnolia” and Rod Stewart’s “Maggie May.”

Following the album release and a short promotion tour, Hoffs will return to the studio to begin work on the Bangles next album with Sweet joining her as the project’s co-producer.

The full track listing for Under the Covers, Vol. 2

1. Sugar Magnolia

2. Go All The Way

3. Second Hand News

4. Bell Bottom Blues

5. All The Young Dudes

6. You’re So Vain

7. Here Comes My Girl

8. I’ve Seen All Good People: Your Move/All Good People

9. Hello, It’s Me

10. Willin’

11. Back Of A Car

12. Couldn’t I Just Tell You

13. Gimme Some Truth

14. Everything I Own

15. Maggie May

16. Beware Of Darkness

Leave a Reply

RZA talks “Rapper’s Delight”