Stephen Stills Ready For His Closeup On New Albums

Videos by American Songwriter


Rhino will dig a little deeper into the storied career of Stephen Stills this fall.

Stills is, of course, one quarter of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, as well as a founding member of Buffalo Springfield and Manassas. That last band isn’t as much of a household name as the other two, but their music is more than worth your attention. On September 22, Rhino will release Manassas-Pieces, which compiles unreleased recordings from the ’70s group’s short career. They’ll follow that with a live CD/DVD of Stills’ celebrated 2008 gig at London’s Shepherd’s Bush, Live at Shepherd’s Bush, due October 27.

From the press release:

After recording his second solo album, Stills formed Manassas in 1971 with a talented group of musicians that included Chris Hillman, a former member of the Byrds and The Flying Burrito Brothers. Manassas released two albums, 1972’s eponymous double-album debut and the 1973 follow-up, Down The Road. MANASSAS — PIECES features alternate versions of two songs from Down The Road: “Do You Remember The Americans” and “Lies” (featuring guitarist Joe Walsh). The collection also includes the legendary group’s unreleased performances of “Sugar Babe” and “Word Game,” a pair of songs Stills recorded in 1971 for his second solo album. The remaining tracks include “Like A Fox,” a song recorded with blues guitarist Bonnie Raitt on background vocals and the Latin-tinged “Tan Sola Y Triste” (Spanish for ‘So Alone and Sad’).

Last fall, Stills played a career-spanning concert at Shepherd’s Bush that was captured for LIVE AT SHEPHERD’S BUSH, a CD/DVD set. Playing both solo-acoustic and full band sets, Stills touched on nearly every facet of his prolific career: Buffalo Springfield (“Bluebird,” “For What It’s Worth,” “Rock & Roll Woman”); CSN (“Suite: Judy Blue Eyes,” “Helplessly Hoping,” “Southern Cross”); CSNY (“Woodstock,” “Carry On”); early solo (“Love The One You’re With,” “Marianne”); Manassas (“So Begins The Task,” “Isn’t It About Time”); Stills/Young (“Long May You Run”); and later solo (“Treetop Flyer,” “Wounded World”). Other highlights include covers of Bob Dylan’s “Girl From The North Country” and Tom Petty’s “The Wrong Thing To Do,” as well as a performance of “High And Dry,” a track Manassas recorded that remained unreleased until surfacing this year on MANASSAS — PIECES. Stephen Stills vinyl releases will follow later this year.”

Manassas-Pieces track listing:

1. “Witching Hour”*
2. “Sugar Babe”*
3. “Lies”
4. “My Love Is A Gentle Thing”
5. “Like a Fox”*
6. “Word Game”*
7. “Tan Sola Y Triste”*
8. “Fit To Be Tied”*
9. “Love and Satisfy”*
10. “High And Dry”*
11. “Panhandle Rag”*
12. “Uncle Pen”*
13. “Do You Remember the Americans”*
14. “Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (And Loud, Loud Music)”*
15. “I Am My Brother”*

* Unreleased recording

Live at Sheperd’s Bush CD/DVD track listing:

Acoustic Set
1. “Treetop Flyer”
2. “4 + 20”
3. “Johnny’s Garden”
4. “Change Partners”
5. “Girl From The North Country”
6. “Blind Fiddler”
7. “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes”

Electric Set
1. “Isn’t It About Time”
2. “Rock & Roll Woman”
3. “The Wrong Thing To Do”
4. “Wounded World”
5. “Bluebird”
6. “For What It’s Worth”
7. “Love The One You’re With”



Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

“The Motorcycle Song”