The Top 10 Tyler, the Creator Songs

The 31-year-old California-born rapper known as Tyler, the Creator was born Tyler Gregory Okonma on March 6, 1991. Since then, the artist has gone on to form the collective Odd Future and win two Grammy Awards, along with several other accolades.

Videos by American Songwriter

Tyler released his debut mixtape, Bastard, in 2009 and soon rose through the ranks to earn attention from music fans. Today, he’s known for horrorcore (a subgenre of hip-hop) and strange lyrics. He dropped his debut LP, Goblin, in 2011. The single “Yonkers” has earned millions of streams.

[RELATED: Tyler, The Creator’s Camp Flog Gnaw Festival Not Returning in 2022]

Tyler dropped his second album, Wolf, in 2013. With it, he began to move away from the shocking horrorcore style and head more toward an alternative rap sound. He released Cherry Bomb in 2015, which featured jazzy sounds that he’s leaned on more since. He dropped Flower Boy in 2017 and the acclaimed Igor in 2019. His LP, Call Me If You Get Lost, dropped in 2021.

Here below, we will dive into the standout rappers’ Top 10 songs.

1. “New Magic Wand”

The fifth song on the 2019 album, Igor, this song is something like a sonic jungle that the listener maneuvers within. Birds chirp in the distance, and the synth-sonic wind roars. All the while Tyler, the Creator, our guide, makes us seem both safe and precarious at the same time. Skillful stuff.

2. “Yonkers”

The second single from his debut album, Gobline, in 2011, this song was written by Tyler and it earned him a bit of controversy due to its violent lyrics and numerous disses toward other artists. Tyler also directed the music video for the ominous track.

3. “See You Again (Feat. Kali Uchis)

This song features vocals from the Grammy Award-winning singer Kali Uchis. The track was released as the fourth single from Tyler’s LP, Flower Boy, in 2017.

4. “Sandwitches”

From Tylery’s 2011 album, Goblin, this track is the kind of track that can get a crowd rowdy and rollicking. Turn off the lights, maybe turn up the black lights, and let it bang with Tyler’s signature lyrical aggression.

5. “911 / Mr. Lonely”

Released in 2017 as the lead single from Tyler’s fourth LP, Flower Boy, this song was produced by Tyler and also features vocals from the acclaimed artist Frank Ocean, along with performances by Steve Lacy and Anna of the North.

6. “Earfquake”

The second song and first single from his fifth LP, Igor, this song features an uncredited guest appearance from rapper Playboi Carti and background vocals by Charlie Wilson and Jessy Wilson. It dropped in 2019. It’s also the highest charting song to date from Tyler, peaking at No. 13 on the Billboard Hot 100.

7. “Gone, Gone / Thank You”

Also from the 2019 LP, Igor, this track is more melodic than one might expect from Tyler. It’s hopeful, soulful, and bright.

8. “Colossus”

From the artist’s 2013 album, Wolf, this track opens the LP. It features skillful lyricism combined with biting anger. Tyler talks about being disrupted by fans. Sometimes, even if a person is famous, he doesn’t want to be asked for photos right and left.

9. “A Boy Is A Gun*”

The seventh song from the 2019 LP, Igor. The music video for this track has garnered more than 20 million views on YouTube, alone. It features soul samples and an almost Outkast feel—another prominent hip-hop act from the ATL.

10. “Wusyaname”

Featuring rappers YoungBoy Never Broke Again and Ty Dolla $ign, this track was released in 2021 from Tyler’s album, Call Me If You Get Lost. It features a ’90s R&B feel and samples H-Town’s song, “Back Seat (Wit No Sheets).” On it, Tyler ramps to a mysterious woman that he falls for while on a road trip. It’s the highest-charting song from the recent LP.

Photo by Andy Sheppard/Redferns

Leave a Reply

Dave Matthews Band

Dave Matthews Band Announces Tour, New Album ‘Walk Around The Moon’