Foxygen Announce New Album, Release New Single “Follow The Leader”

The duo returns for a new project and tour

Foxygen 2016
Photo credit: Cara Robbins

Foxygen have announced a new album, revealed its debut single and have announced a U.S. tour in support.

The California duo will followup 2014’s …And Star Power with Hang, an elaborately arranged record out Jan. 20 on Jagjaguwar.

Foxygen wrote and produced the project themselves at Electro Vox Studios in Los Angeles, recording the album on 2” tape, but enlisted some help on the instrumentation side in the form of a 40-plus-piece symphony orchestra.

All eight of Hang‘s songs feature the orchestra arranged and conducted by Trey Pollard, who’s arranged for Matthew E. White and Natalie Prass. White provides additional arranging on the album.

The duo of Sam France and Jonathan Rado also enlisted more collaborators to play on the record. The Flaming Lips’ Steven Drozd appears on several cuts, and the Lemon Twigs, an eccentric rhythm section duo, play on the album.

Along with the album announcement the band released the video for the lead single “Follow the Leader,” a ’70s pop cut complete with the aforementioned symphonic parts and a goofy, choreography-filled video. The band released another album track, the baroque pop number “America,” in October.

The duo will also tour in support of project in the spring, following two one-off shows in London and Brooklyn before the end of the year.

See the video for Foxygen’s “Follow the Leader,” Hang‘s track listing and the band’s full tour schedule below.

Hang Tracklisting:
1. Follow The Leader
2. Avalon
3. Mrs. Adams
4. America
5. On Lankershim
6. Upon A Hill
7. Trauma
8. Rise Up

Foxygen Tour Dates:
Wed. Nov. 9 – London, UK @ Oslo – SOLD OUT
Thu. Dec. 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade – SOLD OUT
Tue. Mar. 21 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Wed. Mar. 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Fri. Mar. 24 – New York, NY @ Terminal 5
Sat. Mar. 25 – Boston, MA @ The Paradise
Sun. Mar. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Tue. Mar. 28 – Toronto, ON @ Opera House
Thu. Mar. 30 – Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Fri. Mar. 31 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre
Sat. Apr. 1 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre
Sun. Apr. 2 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave
Tue. Apr. 4 – Denver, CO @ Gothic Theatre
Wed. Apr. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Fri. Apr. 7 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Sat. Apr. 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Sun. Apr. 9 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
Tue. Apr. 11 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thu. Apr. 13 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
Fri. Apr. 14 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. Apr. 15 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Mon. Apr. 17 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
Tue. Apr. 18 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Wed. Apr. 19 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
Thu. Apr. 20 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle