Alabama Shakes Announce New Album, Release New Single

photo by Brantley Gutierrez

Good news, Alabama Shakes fans — the band just announced Sound & Color, the follow up to 2012’s Boys & Girls. Listeners can expect a little something new from the twelve-song collection, which throws in some garage and psychedelic influences alongside the band’s usual blues rock fare.

Videos by American Songwriter

The band recorded the album at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studio and co-produced with Blake Mills, a guitarist known for his work with artists like Sky Ferreira and Norah Jones.

“We took our time to write this record, and I’m really glad we did,” lead singer/guitarist Brittany Howard said in a press release. “We were able to sit down and think about what’s exciting to us. This record is full of genre-bending songs.”

In anticipation of the album, the band released first single “Don’t Wanna Fight,” streaming below. The record drops April 21 via ATO Records.

For more information on Sound & Color and to check out the band’s full list of tour dates, visit A full track listing is below.

Sound & Color Track Listing:

  1. Sound and Color
  2. Don’t Wanna Fight
  3. Dunes
  4. Future People
  5. Gimme All Your Love
  6. This Feeling
  7. Guess Who
  8. The Greatest
  9. Shoegaze
  10. Miss You
  11. Gemini
  12. Over My Head




Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Rhiannon Giddens: Tomorrow is My Turn

Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires Release Sea Songs