Bon Iver Readies Bon Iver

Videos by American Songwriter

On June 21, Jagjaguwar will release Bon Iver, the second full-length album from Justin Vernon’s band Bon Iver.

The new record features 10 tracks, many of which are named for geographic locations, penned by Vernon over a period of three years. The album was recorded in a former veterinarians clinic in Fall Creek, Wisconsin, with Vernon and his brother Nate manning the boards. In addition to band mainstays Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan (vocals, drums, and production), Bon Iver features pedal steel guitarist Greg Leisz (Lucinda Williams, Bill Frisell) strings from Rob Moose (Antony and the Johnsons, The National), and a horn section comprised of Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire), Mike Lewis (Andrew Bird, Happy Apple), and C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan Stevens).

Since releasing the critically lauded For Emma, Forever Ago in 2008, Vernon has made fans of artists like St. Vincent and David Byrne, and contributed vocals to Kanye West’s My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. Look for our upcoming feature on Bon Iver in the July/August issue.

Bon Iver Tracklisting:

1. Perth
2. Minnesota, WI
3. Holocene
4. Towers
5. Michicant
6. Hinnom, TX
7. Wash.
8. Calgary
9. Lisbon, OH
10. Beth/Rest


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Richard X. Heyman: Tiers/ And Other Stories