Brian Wilson Gets “Rhythm” On Gershwin Covers Album

Videos by American Songwriter

If sophistication and surf were to find a common intersection, it would probably be right here. Former Beach Boy and music icon Brian Wilson is set to release an album of George Gershwin tunes on August 17. The album is called Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin, and features fourteen tracks including, “I Got Rhythm,” “They Can’t Take That Away From Me,” and “Rhapsody in Blue.” All receive Wilson’s signature sun-soaked spin.

“When I was two years old, [“Rhapsody in Blue”] stole my heart,” Wilson told The Gershwin estate approached Wilson, who was initially “scared” to take on the project, seeing Gershwin as the “greatest music maker in the world.”

In conjunction with putting his own mark in the songs, the Gershwin estate asked him to complete “The Like in I Love You” and “Nothing but Love,” two previously unfinished songs. “’Nothing but Love’” is probably one of my favorites,” Wilson said. “We wanted to give that one closest to the experience of love. Love and beauty.”


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

NPR Surveys Female Artists For “Hey Ladies”