Gary Clark Jr. Readies New Album Blak and Blu

Videos by American Songwriter

Austin native and young-blood guitarist Gary Clark Jr. has revealed the title and track-listing of his upcoming debut for Warner Brothers Records. Clark has been a must see music festival phenomenon for the past few years, and has played alongside musical heavyweights such as Alicia Keys and Dave Matthews Band. He even showed up at the White House during Red, White and Blues event, which also featured performances by Mick Jagger, B.B. King, Buddy Guy, Jeff Beck, and Booker T. Jones.

The album was produced by Mike Elizondo (Dr. Dre, Mastodon, Fiona Apple), Rob Cavallo (Green Day, My Chemical Romance) and Mr. Clark Jr. himself. While Clark handles guitar, vocal, and trumpet responsibilities on his own, Elizondo plays the bass on many tracks. Drummer, J. J. Thompson, and keyboardist, Zac Rae, also contribute to the album.

Below is a clip from Clark Jr.’s set at the 2010 Crossroads Guitar Festival. Clark is well known for his warm, fuzz guitar tone, full voice, and adept skill with modern blues. The new album Blak and Blu, will be released on October 22nd.

Blak and Blu Track Listing:

1. Aint’ Messin’ Around
2. When My Train Pulls In
3. Blak and Blu
4. Bright Lights
5. Travis County
6. The Life
7. Glitter Ain’t Gold
8. Numb
9. Please Come Home
10. Things Are Changin’
11. Third Stone From The Sun/If You Love Me Like You Say
12. You Saved Me
13. Next Door Neighbor Blues

Leave a Reply

Gillian Welch, Jason Isbell, Alabama Shakes Take Home Americana Awards