George Fest: George Harrison Celebration to Be Released as Film/Album

George Harrison - George Fest

Videos by American Songwriter

George Fest, a star-studded tribute show dedicated to the music of George Harrison, will be released as a concert film and album on Feb. 26, 2016.

The show, which took place on Sept. 28th, 2014 at the The Fonda Theater in Los Angeles, featured some of music’s biggest names performing songs from Harrison’s Beatles, Travelling Wilburys and solo catalogs. Performers included Brian Wilson and Al Jardine, The Flaming Lips, Perry Farrell, Conan O’Brien, “Weird Al” Yankovic, Heart’s Ann Wilson, The Killers’ Brandon Flowers, Norah Jones and Harrison’s son Dhani. Dhani also produced the album alsongside David Zonshine.

“I’ve always imagined a small club show where my generation of musicians could cut loose on some of the deeper tracks from his career,” Dhani said in a release. “So, in a totally new and vibrant way, I once again found myself taking the stage with some of my most treasured musical heroes to the sound of the most familiar music in my life… I hope you enjoy listening to these as much as I do. They are some of the best interpretations of my father’s songs I could have ever thought possible.”

The concert will be released on CD, CVD, Blu-Ray, vinyl and digital download. In addition to concert footage, the DVD/Blu-Ray features clips of the musicians discussing Harrison’s influence on them and their music.

See the tracklist and trailer for George Fest: A Night To Celebrate The Music Of George Harrison below. You can also listen to the performance of the Traveling Wilbury’s “Handle With Care” featuring Flowers, Britt Daniel, Dhani Harrison, Jonathan Bates, Wayne Coyne, and Yankovic below, as well.

1. Introduction
2. Old Brown Shoe Conan O’Brien
3. I Me Mine Britt Daniel from Spoon
4. Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll) Jonathan Bates with Dhani Harrison
5. Something Norah Jones
6. Got My Mind Set On You Brandon Flowers from The Killers
7. If Not For You Heartless Bastards
8. Be Here Now Ian Astbury from The Cult
9. Wah-Wah   Nick Valensi from The Strokes
10. If I Needed Someone Jamestown Revival
11. Art of Dying Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
12. Savoy Truffle Dhani Harrison
13. For You Blue Chase Cohl with Weezer’s Brian Bell on guitar
14. Beware Of Darkness Ann Wilson from Heart
1. Let It Down Dhani Harrison
2. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth) Ben Harper
3. Here Comes The Sun Perry Farrell from Jane’s Addiction
4. What Is Life  “Weird Al” Yankovic
5. Behind That Locked Door Norah Jones
6. My Sweet Lord Brian Wilson with Al Jardine
7. Isn’t It A Pity The Black Ryder
8. Any Road Butch Walker
9. I’d Have You Anytime Karen Elson
10. Taxman Cold War Kids
11. It’s All Too Much TheFlaming Lips
 12. Handle With Care Brandon Flowers, Dhani Harrison,Jonathan Bates”Weird Al” Yankovic, Britt DanielandWayne Coyne
 13. All Things Must Pass Ann Wilson,Dhani Harrison, Karen Elson and Norah Jones

Brian Fallon - A Wonderful Life

Gaslight Anthem’s Brian Fallon Unveils First Single From New Album