Gill Landry Premieres “Take This Body” Featuring Laura Marling

Just over a week away from the release of his self-titled album, Gill Landry has premiered “Take This Body”, a gloomy, romantic ballad featuring Laura Marling, his European touring mate come this spring, via Stereogum. The Old Crow Medicine Show banjo player has been working on his third solo album for years in a “ramshackle, shanty-ass apartment on the south side of Nashville.” Joining Marling on Gill Landry is guitarist Robert Ellis, trumpeter Nick Etwell of Mumford & Sons and Odessa Jorgensen, who lends harmonies and fiddle to a number of tunes.

Videos by American Songwriter

“These songs are my attempt at transcending the more classic type of broken-hearted love song I’d been writing for years where there was an obvious victim,” Landry said in a press release. “I tried to not come at it from the point of how things could have/should have been or should be, but searching for a sweet, understanding surrender to what is or was, and moving forward with compassion and kindness without harsh judgment to the reasons for this crime or that misstep.”

Gill Landry comes out March 3 via ATO Records.

Gill Landry Track Listing:
1. Funeral In My Heart
2. Just Like You
3. Waiting For Your Love
4. Emily
5. Take This Body
6. Fennario
7. Lost Love
8. Lately Right Now
9. Long Road
10. Bad Love

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Daily Discovery: Simen Mitlid, “Guess I Am Losing My Mind Now”