Gillian Welch Announces The Harrow & The Harvest

Videos by American Songwriter

June 28 will see the release of Gillian Welch’s first album in eight years, the stunning The Harrow & The Harvest. The Harrow & The Harvest was recorded at her own Woodland Sound Studios in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by guitarist and collaborator David Rawlings.

38 independent record stores will preview The Harrow & The Harvest (go to for details). Welch and Rawlings will launch a tour of seventy cities on May 20 that will stretch into the fall.

The Harrow & The Harvest “is a new Southern sound,” writes Colin Meloy of The Decemberists, “with the sort of songs you wouldn’t be surprised to hear issuing from some verdant, wooded hollow in Appalachia; Songs you’d expect to hear hollered from an Asheville grange hall, all too late in the evening. Songs with the wry humor of the back porch. Listen to this record with the lights low. Listen to it on an old radio, cradled next to your ear.”

Gillian Welch discusses the making of The Harrow & The Harvest in the upcoming issue of American Songwriter.

The Harrow & The Harvest Track Listing:

1. Scarlet Town
2. Dark Turn Of Mind
3. The Way It Will Be
4. The Way It Goes
5. Tennessee
6. Down Along The Dixie Line
7. Six White Horses
8. Hard Times
9. Silver Dagger
10. The Way The Whole Thing Ends

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch: Atlanta Girl-Group The Coathangers, “Hurricane”