Gov’t Mule Joined By Elvis Costello, Dave Matthews, Grace Potter On New Album

Gov't Mule
Gov’t Mule have something special planned for Shout!, their first LP in four years. The album features eleven songs and a bonus disc–that’s where the real fun begins. The tracks on both CDs are the same, but each song on the bonus disc is accompanied by a different artist, from Jim James to Elvis Costello to Grace Potter. Guests include Dr. John, Dave Matthews, Ben Harper, Toots Hibbert and more (see the full track list below).

Videos by American Songwriter

While considering the best way to approach their new album, vocalist and guitarist Warren Haynes felt unsure about the track “Funny Little Tragedy.” “Not only is it different from anything Gov’t Mule’s ever done, it kind of reminded me of The Attractions or The Clash,” Haynes said. Lost, he sought guidance from Elvis Costello about the best mic to use for the ’80s sound they wanted.

“Elvis sent me a very elaborate response explaining how he recorded this vocal and how he recorded that vocal, going all the way back to My Aim is True,” recalls Haynes. “I was really happy to get his response and I wound up using the Shure SM58, which is about a $100 microphone, and it turned out great. That was the first seed that was planted for Shout! because from that point forward I started thinking it would be cool to hear Elvis sing this tune.”

After consulting his bandmates about the bonus disc idea and compiling a list of artists he would like to approach, he started reaching out to them, and eventually recording with them.

“We’ve always taken a nontraditional approach to everything we’ve done, and it works for us,” Haynes said. “One of things we’re very proud of about this record is that all the songs stand up for themselves and have their own personality. Hopefully, hearing another singer interpret them helps shine even more of a light on the songs and somewhere in that picture people get a glimpse of what Gov’t Mule does.”

Below is the complete track list for Shout!

Disc 1: 

1.            World Boss
2.            No Reward
3.            Whisper In Your Soul
4.            Captured
5.            Scared To Live
6.            Stoop So Low
7.            Forsaken Savior
8.            Done Got Wise
9.            When The World Gets Small
10.          Funny Little Tragedy
11.          Bring On The Music 

Disc 2:

1.            World Boss w/ Ben Harper
2.            Funny Little Tragedy w/ Elvis Costello
3.            Stoop So Low w/ Dr. John
4.            Captured w/ Jim James
5.            Whisper In Your Soul w/ Grace Potter
6.            Scared To Live w/ Toots Hibbert
7.            No Reward w/ Glenn Hughes
8.            Bring On The Music w/ Ty Taylor
9.            Forsaken Savior w/ Dave Matthews
10.          Done Got Wise w/ Myles Kennedy
11.          When The World Gets Small w/ Steve Winwood

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

David Byrne and St. Vincent Enchant At Ravinia Festival