Instrumental Duo Steelism Prep New Album ism

Photo courtesy of artist

Nashville instrumental duo Steelism, who served as the backing band for American Songwriter’s 30th anniversary party back in 2015, has announced plans to release a new album June 23 via Thirty Tigers. The group’s latest work is called ism and is the follow-up to 615 To Fame. 

Videos by American Songwriter

ism is a ten-song record that that draws inspiration from remembrances of things past, such as mid-century design and ’70s film scores.

“We began recording ism the day after the election results rolled in which created a tense atmosphere right from the get-go. We depended on Steelism to be our escape. The new rule for the sessions became that a musical part or performance was only successful if it made you laugh or feel cool! Which instantly helps filter a lot of ideas out,” explained the band.

The record features guest vocals from Tristen, Ruby Amanfu, Andrew Combs, and Jessie Baylin.

 1) Re-Member
2) Eno Nothing
3) Shake Your Heel (ft. Tristen)
4) Anthem
5) Roulette (ft. Ruby Amanfu)
6) Cup of Wasser
7) Chartreuse
8) Lonely Game (ft. Andrew Combs & Jessie Baylin)
9) The Henchman / The Buffalo
10) Let it Brew
Tour Dates:
6/29: Mercy Lounge – Nashville, TN
7/1: Eno River Festival – Raleigh, NC *
7/27: Rockwood Music Hall (Stage 2) – New York, NY
7/30: Newport Folk Fest – Newport, RI
9/23-9/24 @ Pilgrimage Fest – Franklin, TN *
* = co-bill w/ Ruby Amanfu

John Moreland: Big Bad Luv