Johnny Flynn Announces New Album, Releases “The Lady Is Risen”

Johnny Flynn

Videos by American Songwriter

When one thinks of the West London folk scene, images of Mumford & Sons and Laura Marling immediately spring to mind. But Johnny Flynn is one of a number of UK-based troubadours who have been contributing to the English-fronted Americana revival since the late-00s. Laying low since the 2010 release of Been Listening (and an American Songwriter interview and session), Flynn has been working with Sussex Wit-collaborator Adam Beach, producing and recording his next album in different studios in New York and London, the theme of which is, fittingly, journeying. Called Country Mile, the titular distance is metaphorical, an indefinite length in which the travel itself becomes a teacher of sorts. The lead single, “The Lady Is Risen,” finds Flynn ruminating on divine love and, naturally, the journey therein.

The album is due September 30 via Transgressive Records. Johnny Flynn & the Sussex Wit will be embarking on full headlining US tour in the near future, but before then they will be appearing as special guests for Mumford & Sons  in September. A list of dates and the full tracklist for Country Mile, as well as the lyric video for “The Lady is Risen” are available below.


Mon 16th September – New Orleans LA Mardi Gras World
Tues 17th September – Woodlands TX Cynthia Woods Pavilion
Weds 18th September – Dallas TX GEXA Energy Pavilion
Fri 20th September – Bonner Springs KS Cricket Wireless Amphitheatre

1) Country Mile
2) After Eliot
3) The Lady Is Risen
4) Murmuration
5) Gypsy Hymn
6) Fol-de-rol
7) Einstein’s Idea
8) Tinker’s Trail
9) Bottom of the Sea Blues
10) Time Unremembered




Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Daily Discovery: Nicky Egan, “Made a Fool of Me”