Levon Helms Goes “Electric” On New Solo Album

June 30 will see the release of Levon Helm’s Electric Dirt, the followup to his 2007 Grammy award-winning comeback album Dirt Farmer. Said to have a feel closer to Helms’ popular Woodstock-based Midnight Ramble concerts, Electric Dirt continues the longtime Band drummer/vocalists’ exploration of American roots music. Randy Newman and the Grateful Dead also get a nod: Helms covers the Dead’s “Tennessee Jed” and Newman’s “Kingfish.” New Orleans legend Allen Touissaint provides the horn arrangements for the Helms original “Growing Trade.” Multi-instrumentalist Larry Cambell returns as producer, and singer Teresa Williams and Helms’ daughter Amy Helm guest.

Videos by American Songwriter

Check out the Midnight Ramble video below, featuring none other than Canadian outlaw Billy Bob Thornton.

Here’s the track list for Electric Dirt:

“Tennessee Jed”
“Move Along Train”
“Growing Trade”
“Golden Bird”
“Stuff You Gotta Watch”
“White Dove”
“You Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had”
“When I Go Away”
“Heaven’s Pearls”
“I Wish I Knew How it Would Feel To Be Free”

Leave a Reply

Kurt Cobain’s Favorite Band Is Back: Re-Meet The Vaselines