“Lost” Roy Orbison Album, MGM Box Set To Be Released In December

Roy Orbison's 'The MGM Years' Box Set
Roy Orbison’s ‘The MGM Years’ Box Set

Roy Orbison‘s MGM catalog is set to be reissued in a 152-track box set, along with an unreleased album recorded in 1969.

Videos by American Songwriter

The MGM Years box set will feature all 11 studio albums the late musician recorded for MGM after leaving Monument Records. It will also include a collection of non-album singles and B-sides and the soundtrack to The Fastest Guitar Alive, the film starring Orbison that was part of his deal with MGM. It will be available digitally, in a 13-disc CD set, and a 14-disc vinyl set.

One of the Lonely Ones is a 12-track album that was recently discovered by Orbison’s sons. Among the album’s songs are a cover of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s “You’ll Never Walk Alone,” and “Child Woman, Woman Child,” a song akin to Orbison’s biggest hit, “Pretty Woman.” It will be released digitally and physically on CD and 180-gram vinyl.

Both projects will be released on Dec. 4 and are currently available for pre-order. The first 500 physical copies of the box set will also include One of the Lonely Ones.

See the full track listings below, and also watch Roy Orbison perform “The River” in The Fastest Guitar Alive.

Roy Orbison – The MGM Years [14 LP vinyl box set; 13 CD box set] (all 152 tracks also available digitally)

1) There Is Only One Roy Orbison (1965)

2) The Orbison Way (1966)

3) The Classic Roy Orbison (1966)

4) Roy Orbison Sings Don Gibson (1967)

5) The Fastest Guitar Alive (Soundtrack) (1967)

6) Cry Softly Lonely One (1967)

7) Roy Orbison’s Many Moods (1969)

8) Hank Williams the Roy Orbison Way (1970)

9) The Big O (1970)

10) Roy Orbison Sings (1972)

11) Memphis (1972)

12) Milestones (1973)

13) MGM B-Sides And Singles (2015) (2 discs in vinyl box set, 1 disc in CD box set)

Roy Orbison – One of the Lonely Ones [vinyl LP; CD; digital album]

(recorded 1/21/69 – 8/2/69, all tracks previously unreleased)

1) You’ll Never Walk Alone

2) Say No More

3) Leaving Makes the Rain Come Down

4) Laurie

5) Sweet Memories

6) One of the Lonely Ones

7) Child Woman, Woman Child

8) The Defector

9) Give Up

10) Little Girl (In the Big City)

11) After Tonight

12) I Will Always


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Daily Discovery: Mr John, “Light of Day”