Lucinda Williams To Release Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone

lucinda williams
Lucinda Williams will release a double album, Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone, on September 30. It’s the 61-year-old Grammy winner’s first collection of new songs since 2011’s Blessed.  It will be released on her new label Highway 20 Records, via Thirty Tigers. 

Videos by American Songwriter

Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone‘s twenty songs include “Compassion,” based on a poem written by Williams’ father, acclaimed poet Miller Williams, and a cover of JJ Cale’s “Magnolia.”

Guest musicians include guitarists Bill Frisell, Tony Joe White, Faces keyboardist Ian McLagan, and Elvis Costello rhythm section members Pete Thomas (drums) and Davey Faragaher (bass) and Wallflowers guitarist Stuart Mathis. The Wallflowers’ Jakob Dylan sings harmony on “It’s Gonna Rain.” 

Williams rereleased her classic 1988 self-titled album earlier this year.

Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone Track Listing:

Disc One:

Burning Bridges
East Side Of Town
West Memphis
Cold Day In Hell
Wrong Number
Stand Right By Each Other
It’s Gonna Rain

Disc Two:

Something Wicked This Way Comes
Big Mess
When I Look At The World
Walk On
Temporary Nature (Of Any Precious Thing)
Everything But The Truth
This Old Heartache
Stowaway In Your Heart
One More Day

Lucinda Williams Tour dates:

07/30/2014 Portland, OR – Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre
07/31/2014 Seattle, WA – Woodland Park Zoo Amphitheatre
08/02/2014 Ninilchik, AK – Salmonstock
08/30/2014 Fayetteville, AR – Fayetteville Roots Festival


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

My Name Is New York Tells The Story Of Woody Guthrie In New York

Can’t Nothing Bring Me Shame: “Weird Al” Yankovic Parodies Pharrell’s “Happy”