Mavis Staples Drafts Jeff Tweedy For New LP

(Photo: Spencer Tweedy)

Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy serves as the producer for soul/gospel music legend Mavis Staples latest album, You Are Not Alone, due September 14 on Anti- Records.

Videos by American Songwriter

Tweedy wrote two new songs for Staples, a fellow Chicago native, “Only the Lord Knows” and “You Are Not Alone.” Staples also performs songs by Randy Newman, Allen Toussaint, John Fogerty, Rev. Gary Davis and Little Milton, and Pops Staples.

The album was recorded at Wilco’s Loft recording studio, and features Wilco member Patrick Sansone on keys and vibes, as well as Staple’s touring band. Kelly Hogan and Nora O’Connor add background vocals.

Mavis Staples, who released her first album for Anti- in 2007, will play Lollapalooza on August 6, and the Wilco-curated Solid Sound Festival at Mass MoCa on August 14. Read an interview with Staples about the album here.

Track listing for You Are Not Alone

1.      You Don’t Knock (Pops Staples/Wesley Westbrook)
2.      You Are Not Alone (Jeff Tweedy)
3.      Downward Road (Pops Staples)
4.      In Christ There is No East and West (traditional; arranged by Jeff Tweedy)
5.      Creep Along, Moses (traditional) 6.     Losing You (Randy Newman)
7.      I Belong to the Band (Rev. Gary Davis)
8.      Last Train (Allen Toussaint)
9.      Only the Lord Knows (Jeff Tweedy)
10.     Wrote A Song for Everyone (John Fogerty)
11.     We’re Gonna Make It (Little Milton)
12.     Wonderful Savior (traditional)
13.     Too Close To Heaven / I’m On My Way to Heaven Anyhow (Prof. Alex E. BradfordJr./Brad Pathway)

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

George Harrison Says Paul McCartney’s Dead In New DVD