Merle Haggard Readies Working In Tennessee

Videos by American Songwriter

Merle Haggard’s Working In Tennessee, his second release for Vanguard Records, will drop October 4. The latest in the country icon’s already overflowing discography, the new album features Haggard’s trademark everyman poetry, family contributions and a couple of Johnny Cash gems.

Working In Tennessee opens with the title track, which touches on Haggard’s struggles and relationship with Nashville, and proceeds with tales of touring with longtime backing band The Strangers and his traditionally humble take on the world. Get a free download of the title track here.

Wife Theresa co-penned the autobiographical “Down On The Houseboat,” and sings on the Johnny-and-June duet “Jackson.” Daughter Jenessa lent a songwriting hand on “Sometimes I Dream,” and Willie Nelson and son Ben Haggard contribute to a revamped rendition of “Working Man Blues.”

Says the 74-year-old Hall Of Famer of his upcoming release, “I’m swinging back in full throttle right now. Music keeps me alive. It makes me breathe better. It’s funny, but I feel better when I come off a tour than when I start out.”

Track Listing:

1. Working In Tennessee

2. Down On The Houseboat

3. Cocaine Blues

4. What I Hate

5. Sometimes I Dream

6. Under The Bridge

7. Too Much Boogie Woogie

8. Truck Driver’s Blues

9. Laugh It Off

10. Working Man Blues

11. Jackson


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

New Ryan Adams: “Shine Through The Dark”