MGMT Fight Sophomore Slump With Congratulations

Videos by American Songwriter


Experimental Brooklyn band MGMT will drop their second album, Congratulations, on April 13 via Columbia Records.

It’s the followup to Oracular Spectacular, the 2008 debut album that turned them into festival-rock superstars.

Congratulations features nine new tracks: “It’s Working,” “Song for Dan Treacy,” “Someone’s Missing,” “Flash Delirium,” “I Found a Whistle,” “Siberian Breaks,” “Brian Eno,” “Lady Dada’s Nightmare,” and “Congratulations.”

The new album was recorded with MGMT’s live band (Matt Asti on bass, Will Berman on drums, and James Richardson on guitar) at various times last year in upstate New York, Malibu, and Brooklyn, and was produced by Pete Kember, A.K.A. Sonic Boom, (Spacemen 3, E.A.R., Spectrum).

The album also features guest vocals from Royal Trux frontwoman Jennifer Herrema. “We’ve been lucky enough to meet and work with some of our all-time musical heroes,” says band member Andrew VanWyngarden of collaborating with Kember and Herrema.  “It’s so great to be around such amazing and unusual musical minds.”

Fans can pre-order Congratulations on the band’s website:

Leave a Reply

News Roundup: White Stripes Vs. The Air Force, Men At Work Are Innocent, Don’t Do It “My Way”