Nashville Songwriters Association International Honors Recent No. 1’s

From August to November of 2014, more than a dozen songs from songwriters who belong to the Nashville Songwriters Association charted at number one. On February 4, the NSAI honored the songwriters for these songs as well as commemorating Liz and Casey Anderson, two of the association’s founders, with the Stephen Foster Award for their generous support, dedication and contributions to songwriters from Nashville and beyond.

Videos by American Songwriter

Accepting the honor was Casey and his daughter Lynn, on behalf of his late-wife. To celebrate, Lynn performed a medley of “(My Friends Are Gonna Be) Strangers” and “I’m a Lonesome Fugitive,” both songs written by her parents and famously recorded by Merle Haggard.

Read the list of No. 1 of songs below.

“Burnin’ It Down,” Chris Tompkins, Rodney Clawson, Brian Kelley, Tyler Hubbard, recorded by Jason Aldean

“We Are Tonight,” Marc Beeson, Sam Hunt, Josh Osborne, recorded by Billy Currington

“I Don’t Dance,” Lee Brice, Dallas Davidson, Rob Hatch, recorded by Lee Brice

“All About That Bass,” Meghan Trainor, Kevin Kadish,recorded by MeghanTrainor

“Drunk On A Plane,” Dierks Bentley, Josh Kear, Chris Tompkins, recorded by Dierks Bentley

“Hope In Front Of Me,” Danny Gokey, Bernie Herms, Brett James, recorded by Danny Gokey

“Bartender,” Charles Kelley, Dave Haywood, Hillary Scott, Rodney Clawson, recorded by Lady Antebellum

“Shake It Off,” Taylor Swift, recorded by Taylor Swift

“Greater,” Ben Glover, David Garcia, Bart Millard, Nathan Cochran, Michael John Scheuchzer, Robby Shaffer, Barry Graul, recorded by MercyMe

“Where It’s At (Yep, Yep),” Cary Barlowe, Zach Crowell, Matt Jenkins, recorded by Dustin Lynch

“Hope You Get Lonely Tonight,” Cole Swindell, Brian Kelley, Tyler Hubbard, Michael Carter, recorded by Cole Swindell

“Roller Coaster,” Michael Carter, Cole Swindell, recorded by Luke Bryan

“Tonight Looks Good On You,” Rhett Akins, Dallas Davidson, Ashley Gorley, recorded by Jason Aldean

“Fix My Eyes,” Luke Smallbone, Joel Smallbone, Seth Mosley, recorded by for KING & COUNTRY

“Sippin’ On Fire,” Rodney Clawson, Matt Dragstrem, Cole Taylor, recorded by Florida Georgia Line

“Out Of The Woods,” Taylor Swift, recorded by Taylor Swift

“Gotta Get Away,” Patrick Carney, Dan Auerbach, Brian Burton, recorded by The Black Keys

“Leave The Night On,” Sam Hunt, Josh Osborne, Shane McAnally, recorded by Sam Hunt

“Neon Light,” Andrew Dorff, Mark Irwin, Josh Kear, recorded by Blake Shelton

“Blank Space,” Taylor Swift, recorded by Taylor Swift

“Sunshine & Whiskey,” Luke Laird, Jaren Johnston, recorded by Frankie Ballard

“Day Drinking,” Karen Fairchild, Phillip Sweet, Jimi Westbrook, Barry Dean, Troy Verges, recorded by Little Big Town

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

NMPA Releases Response to Copyright Study