Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Inducts John Anderson, Paul Craft, Tom Douglas and Gretchen Peters

(l-r) Pat Alger, Board Chair , NaSHOF Foundation; inductees Gretchen Peters, Tom Douglas and John Anderson; Mark Ford, Executive Director, NaSHOF Foundation. Front Row: Inductee Paul Craft.

from the press release

Videos by American Songwriter

Nashville, TN October 6, 2014  — John AndersonPaul CraftTom Douglas and Gretchen Peters were inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall Fame during the organization’s 44th Anniversary Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony, held last night at the Music City Center.  The event celebrated the musical contributions of the newest inductees through star-studded performances of some of their biggest hits.

“Once again four incredibly talented songwriters have taken their rightful place as the newest members of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame,” said Pat Alger, Board Chair of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation and a member of the Hall of Fame.  “John Anderson, Paul Craft, Tom Douglas and Gretchen Peters represent the best our great songwriting community has to offer. With long fruitful careers of memorable songs, they set the highest creative standard for all of us.”

Paul Craft was inducted by Hall of Fame songwriter Layng Martine, Jr.  Thomas Rhett performed a medley of songs, including “Hank Williams, You Wrote My Life” and “Brother Jukebox.”  In a nod to the recording popularized by her aunt, Linda, Britt Ronstadt performed “Keep Me From Blowing Away” and Bobby Bareclosed out the set with “Drop Kick Me, Jesus.”

Gretchen Peters was inducted by Hall of Fame songwriter Rodney Crowell.  Brandy Clark performed a medley of “You Don’t Even Know Who I Am” and “Independence Day” while Trisha Yearwood sang “On A Bus To St. Cloud.”  Frequent co-writer Bryan Adams sent a congratulatory video message to Peters.

Tom Douglas was inducted by his longtime publisher Troy Tomlinson.  The music segment featured Collin Raye performing “Little Rock,” Hall of Fame member and co-writer Allen Shamblin singing “The House That Built Me” and Tim McGraw with “My Little Girl.”  Via a pre-recorded video, Lady Antebellum sent their own congratulations to Douglas.

John Anderson was inducted by Big & Rich’s John Rich, who also performed a medley of Anderson penned hits, including “Wish I Coulda Been There” and “Chicken Truck.” Hall of Fame songwriter Bobby Braddock sang “Seminole Wind,” while country star Josh Turner performed “Swingin’.”

In a special tribute alongside the Hall of Fame inductions, Hall of Fame songwriters Matraca Berg and Don Schlitz presented the Frances Williams Preston Mentor Award to publisher Pat Higdon.  

The evening also featured a special presentation to Troy Tomlinson, president and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville, in appreciation for his efforts to raise funds for the construction of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame at the Music City Center.

In addition to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame inductions, NaSHOF’s fellow songwriters organization, the Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI), presented its annual Songwriter Achievement Awards.

The organization’s professional songwriter members voted “Automatic” (written by Nicolle Galyon, Natalie Hemby and Miranda Lambert / recorded by Miranda Lambert) as their Song of the Year.

The Songwriter of the Year prize went to Ashley Gorley.  The Songwriter/Artist of the Year was awarded to Jack White.

In addition to honoring the Song, Songwriter and Songwriter/Artist, NSAI presented “The 10 Songs I Wish I’d Written” Awards, voted on by NSAI’s Professional Membership, to the following writers and their songs: “All Kinds Of Kinds” (Phillip Coleman, Don Henry / recorded by Miranda Lambert), “Boys ’Round Here” (Rhett Akins, Dallas Davidson, Craig Wiseman / recorded by Blake Shelton),  “Cop Car” (Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Matt Jenkins / recorded by Keith Urban), “Drink A Beer” (Jim Beavers, Chris Stapleton / recorded by Luke Bryan), “Drunk On A Plane” (Dierks Bentley, Josh Kear, Chris Tompkins / recorded by Dierks Bentley),“Follow Your Arrow” (Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves / recorded by Kacey Musgraves),“Give Me Back My Hometown” (Eric Church, Luke Laird / recorded by Eric Church), “I Hold On” (Dierks Bentley, Brett James / recorded by Dierks Bentley), “Meanwhile Back At Mama’s” (Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Jeffrey Steele / recorded by Tim McGraw w/ Faith Hill) and “Mine Would Be You” (Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Deric Ruttan / recorded by Blake Shelton).

For more information please visit:

Leave a Reply

James Taylor, The Avett Brothers, Top Country Stars Offer Goods Through Musicians Corners’ Online Auction