New Bright Eyes Album Due In February

Videos by American Songwriter

After two excellent solo albums, Conor Oberst is ready to resurrect Bright Eyes, the moniker that made him famous. The band’s seventh studio album, The People’s Key, the followup to 2007’s Cassadaga, will hit stores February 15 via Saddle Creek.

The album was produced by Mike Mogis (Oberst’s longtime producer and fellow Monsters of Folk member), and will feature several guest stars, including Cursive’s Matt Maginn, Carla Azar of Autolux, The Faint’s Clark Baechle, and Laura Burhenn of The Mynabirds. The album release will coincide with Oberst’s 31st birthday.

Has Oberst turned Rastafarian? One of the new song titles is “Haile Selassie,” the Ethiopian Emperor who is considered the messiah in the Rastafari religion.

Check out the track list below:

The People’s Key

1. Firewall
2. Shell Games
3. Jejune Stars
4. Approximate Sunlight
5. Haile Selassie
6. A Machine Spiritual (In The People’s Key)
7. Triple Spiral
8. Beginner’s Mind
9. Ladder Song
10. One For You, One For Me


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

No More Auction Block: Bob Dylan’s “Times They Are A-Changin'” Lyrics Hit Sotheby’s

Great Quotations: Justin Townes Earle