Nikki Jean Co-Writes With Bob Dylan, Carole King, Burt Bacharach

Videos by American Songwriter

Three years ago, genre-hopping artist Nikki Jean crossed the country on a quest to collaborate with her songwriting heroes. She succeeded, in a major way. Her debut album, Pennies In A Jar, due July 12 on S-Curve Records, features songs co-written with Bob Dylan, Carole King, Carly Simon, Lamont Dozier, Jimmy Webb, Burt Bacharach and other legends.

The album was produced by Sam Hollander (Katy Perry, Train, Tom Jones), and features guests Lupe Fiasco and The Roots’ Black Thought. Jean was previously featured as a vocalist on Fiasco’s The Cool.

“It feels amazing to make an organic record that also honors people who wrote many of the songs that helped shape popular culture,” says Jean of Pennies In A Jar. “Hopefully, I’ll get to have the experience of people falling in love with my songs too.”

Track listing for Pennies In A Jar:

1. How to Unring a Bell (Written by Thom Bell & Nikki Jean)

2. Steel and Feathers (Don’t Ever) (Written by Bob Dylan & Nikki Jean)

3. La Di Da Di Da (Written by Luigi Creatore & Nikki Jean)

4. My Love (Written by Lamont Dozier & Nikki Jean)

5. Pennies in a Jar (Written by Burt Bacharach & Nikki Jean)

6. What’s a Girl Supposed to Do (Written by Jeff Barry & Nikki Jean)

7. Rockaway (Written by Carole King & Nikki Jean)

8. Million Star Motel feat. Lupe Fiasco & Black Thought (Written by Bobby Braddock & Nikki Jean)

9. Patty Crash (Written by Paul Williams & Nikki Jean)

10. China (Written by Jimmy Webb & Nikki Jean)

11. Mercy of Love (Written by Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil & Nikki Jean)

12. Sex, Lies and Sunshine (Written by Carly Simon & Nikki Jean)


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Legendary Designer Rupert Neve Addresses Chicago Engineers