NSAI Hosts #1 Party in Nashville

Pictured left to right: NSAI President Lee Thomas Miller, Mervin Louque (NSAI President’s Choice Award), Eileen Littlefield (Maggie Cavender Award), Jerry Kennedy (Stephen Foster Award), NSAI Executive Director Bart Herbison

On September 15, the Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) hosted a party celebrating writers who scored number one hits between February and July of this year.

Videos by American Songwriter

In addition to presenting songwriters with plaques, NSAI honored guitarist/producer Jerry Kennedy (NSAI President’s Choice Award), the late industry executive Merlin Littlefield (The Maggive Cavender Award) and Douglas Corner co-owner Mervin Louque (The Stephen Foster Award).

Festivities were held at NSAI’s Nashville headquarters. 

Songs Recognized (February – July 2014)

“Whatever She’s Got,” Jimmy Robbins, Jon Nite, recorded by David Nail

“Sweet Annie,” Zac Brown, Wyatt Durette, Sonia Leigh, John Pierce, recorded by Zac Brown Band

“Friday Night,” Eric Paslay, Rose Falcon, Rob Crosby, recorded by Eric Paslay

“Invisible,” Hunter Hayes, Bonnie Baker, Katrina Elam, recorded by Hunter Hayes

“Chillin’ it,” Cole Swindell, Shane Minor, recorded by Cole Swindell

“When She Says Baby,” Rhett Akins, Ben Hayslip, recorded by Jason Aldean

“Helluva Life,” Rodney Clawson, Chris Tompkins, Josh Kear, recorded by Frankie Ballard

“I Hold On,” Dierks Bentley, Brett James, recorded by Dierks Bentley

“Doin’ What She Likes,” Wade Kirby, Phil O’Donnell, recorded by Blake Shelton

“Goodnight Kiss,” Rob Hatch, Jason Sellers, Randy Houser, recorded by Randy Houser

“Drink To That All Night,” Derek George, Lance Miller, Brad Warren, Brett Warren, recorded by Jerrod Niemann

“Fever,” Dan Auerbach, Patrick Carney, Brian Burton, recorded by the The Black Keys

“Play It Again,” Ashley Gorley, Dallas Davidson, recorded by Luke Bryan

“Get Me Some of That,” Michael Carter, Rhett Akins, Cole Swindell, recorded by Thomas Rhett

“Rewind,” Eric Paslay, Chris DeStefano, Ashley Gorley, recorded by Rascal Flatts

“Ain’t It Fun,” Hayley Williams, Taylor York, recorded by Paramore

“Automatic,” Nicolle Gaylon, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert, recorded by Miranda Lambert

“Somethin’ Bad,” Chris DeStefano, Brett James, Priscilla Renea, recorded by Miranda Lambert feat Carrie Underwood

“Beat Of The Music,” Brett Eldredge, Ross Copperman, Heather Morgan, recorded by Brett Eldredge

“My Eyes,” Andrew Dorff, Tommy Lee James, Josh Osborne, recorded by Blake Shelton feat. Gwen Sebastian

“Lettin’ The Night Roll,” Justin Moore, Jeremy Stover, Rodney Clawson, recorded by Justin Moore

“Give Me Back My Hometown,” Eric Church, Luke Laird, recorded by Eric Church

“American Kids,” Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally, recorded by Kenny Chesney

“Beachin’,” Jaren Johnston, Jon Nite, Jimmy Robbins, recorded by Jake Owen

“We Believe,” Richie Fike, Matt Hooper, Travis Ryan, recorded by Newsboys

“Dirt,” Chris Tompkins, Rodney Clawson, recorded by Florida Georgia Line

“Yeah,” Ashley Gorley, Bryan Simpson, recorded by Joe Nichols

“Whiskey In My Water,” Tyler Farr, Phillip LaRue, John Ozier, recorded by Tyler Farr

“Who I Am With You,” Marv Green, Paul Jenkins, Jason Sellers, recorded by Chris Young

Leave a Reply

Yusuf/Cat Stevens Announces New Album, U.S. Tour