Lost Patty Griffin Album From 2000 To See Release

Patty Griffin Silver Bells
With the Internet, accessing officially unreleased music – bootlegs, live versions, covers of all kinds – is significantly easier than it once was. That said, it’s not quite the same as the polish of a formally mixed and produced album, particularly when charting the stylistic changes and trajectory of a musician like Patty Griffin, whose 2000 effort, Silver Bell is finally seeing release on October 8th through Universal Music Enterprises.

Videos by American Songwriter

The all-original songs spent about 13 years in catalog limbo, due in large part to a change in ownership at A&M, and in that time both “Top of the World” and “Truth #2” were covered (and made hits) by the Dixie Chicks on their 2002 album Home. (Natalie Maines kept up the homage, covering “Silver Bell” on her solo debut.) Newly mixed by Glyn Johns, the 14-song collection was recorded in 2000 at Daniel Lanois’ Kingsway Studio with help from Doug Lancio on guitar, John Deaderick playing keys and Frank Swart handling bass. Emmylou Harris adds harmonies on “Truth #2.”

Feature – Patty Griffin’s Family Affair

The intended follow-up to Flaming Red , Silver Bell was lost in the shuffle as Griffin went on to release five more albums, including the Grammy-winning Downtown Church and her most recent, American Kid , released this past May.

Silver Bell will finally see release and retail on October 8.

Silver Bell Track Listing:

1. Little God
2. Truth#2
3. Boston
4. Perfect White Girls
5. Sooner or Later
6. What you Are
7. Silver Bell
8. Fragile
9. Mother of God
10. One More Girl
11. Sorry and Sad
12. Driving
13. Top of the World
14. So Long


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

EP Premiere: Cale Tyson, High On Lonesome