Pete Yorn Enlists Frank Black For Pete Yorn

Videos by American Songwriter

Last time out, Pete Yorn collaborated with the lovely Scarlett Johansson, on the duos album Breakup. This time, the New Jersey singer-songwriter turns to Frank Black, who may not be as sexy, but is a bona fide music legend.

The Pixies frontman produced Yorn’s 11-track album, dubbed Pete Yorn. The album was born when Black hit up Yorn about working on some songs together. Yorn flew out to Black’s place in Salem, Oregon, where they banged out the complete album in five days, two of which Black had the flu for.

“Frank didn’t give a shit about getting sick, so we stayed in the flow,” says Yorn in a statment. “He has an incredible ability to distill a song down to its core.”

Says Black: “Pete told me he wanted to better define himself as an artist. I think he just wanted to rock out. But as we headed down a path of realization I stripped him down a whole bunch. We battled in the best sort of way. I tried to get the session into a fearless and raw place, and to his artistic credit Pete took his songwriting to a fearless and raw place. This listener will find his or herself sitting right next to Pete on the couch. And the record totally rocks out.”

Pete Yorn Track Listing:

1. Precious Stone

2. Rock Crowd

3. Velcro Shoes

4. Paradise Cove

5. Badman

6. The Chase

7. Sans Fear

8. Always

9. Stronger than

10. Future Life

11. Wheels

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

The Top 10 Bands We’re Excited To See At Bonnaroo