Preview the All-Star Buddy Holly Tribute: The Black Keys, “Dearest”

Videos by American Songwriter

On June 28, Fantasy/Concord will release Rave On Buddy Holly, a tribute to the late ’50s rock icon who wrote “Peggy Sue,” That’ll Be The Day,” “Every Day” and more.

It turns out Weezer aren’t the only band obsessed with the bespectacled rocker. An eclectic cast of artists have banded together to toast Holly, including Paul McCartney, The Black Keys, Lou Reed, Modest Mouse, My Morning Jacket, Julian Casablancas, Fiona Apple and Cee-Lo. Get a listen to the Black Keys’ cover of Holly’s “Dearest,” a song last heard on the Juno soundtrack, below.

Rave On Buddy Holly track listing:

1. “Dearest” – The Black Keys
2. “Every Day” – Fiona Apple & Jon Brion
3. “It’s So Easy” – Paul McCartney
4. “Not Fade Away – Florence + The Machine”
5. “(You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care” – Cee Lo Green
6. “Crying, Waiting, Hoping” – Karen Elson
7. “Rave On” – Julian Casablancas
8. “I’m Gonna Love You Too” – Jenny O.
9. “Maybe Baby” – Justin Townes Earle
10. “Oh Boy” – She & Him
11. “Changing All Those Changes” – Nick Lowe
12. “Words Of Love” – Patti Smith
13. “True Love Ways” – My Morning Jacket
14. “That’ll Be The Day” – Modest Mouse
15. “Well…All Right” – Kid Rock
16. “Heartbeat” -The Detroit Cobras
17. “Peggy Sue” – Lou Reed
18. “Peggy Sue Got Married” – John Doe
19. “Raining In My Heart” – Graham Nash

Leave a Reply

Inside The ASCAP “I Create Music” Expo: Rufus Wainwright, Lindsay Buckingham, Sara Bareilles And More