Ruby Amanfu to Release Standing Still


Videos by American Songwriter

Photo by Shervin Lainez

Tomorrow (8/28), Nashville’s Ruby Amanfu will release Standing Still, a ten-song collection of covers (save for one original, “I Tried”). Amanfu, who is also known for her work with Jack White and the duo Sam & Ruby, pulls tunes from a wide range of artists, including Bob Dylan, Wilco and Jump, Little Children. Produced with Mark Howard, famous for working with Bob Dylan and Emmylou Harris, and The Black Keys’ Patrick Carney and recorded in a cabin near Nashville suburb Leiper’s Fork, the album is a marked departure from Amanfu’s previous work, but is tied together with her distinct vocals and thoughtful delivery.

Standing Still releases August 28 via Thirty Tigers/Rival Co Records. Check out Amanfu’s rendition of Brandi Carlile’s “Shadow On The Wall” below.

Track Listing:

  1. Anyone Who Knows What Love Is (Irma Thomas)
  2. Where You Going (Jimmie Dale Gilmore)
  3. As The Dawn Breaks (Richard Hawley)
  4. Shadow On The Wall (Brandi Carlile)
  5. Cathedrals (Jump, Little Children)
  6. Streetlights (Kanye West)
  7. Not Dark Yet (Bob Dylan)
  8. One By One (Wilco)
  9. I Tried (Ruby Amanfu)
  10. Out At Sea (Heartless Bastards)


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Daily Discovery: ALL WALLS, “Once They’re Gone”