The Secret Sisters Announce New Album & Tour

The Secret Sisters_PYND_Final
Country/folk duo The Secret Sisters  (Laura and Lydia Rogers) released their acclaimed self-titled debut album four years ago. Now the sisters and their fans are ready for new music. Their second album, Put Your Needle Down will be released on April 15th via Republic Records. It was produced by T Bone Burnett, who also helmed their first album, and contains the new single “Rattle My Bones.”

Videos by American Songwriter

Put Your Needle Down also features “Dirty Lie,” an old Bob Dylan song they brought to life. Dylan started writing “Dirty Lie” back in the ’80s; bootleg copies exist of the tune in it’s unfinished form. When Dylan’s office heard that the Secret Sisters were recording a new album, his representative sent several demos to Laura and Lydia for their consideration. They chose “Dirty Lie,” and Dylan gave the Sisters the nod to finish the song and record it.

“Bob Dylan is one of those legends that doesn’t even seem real,” Laura Rogers tells American Songwriter. “He’s so important to music history that he becomes completely mythical, at least to the two of us. I remember the day that T Bone came into the studio to ask us if we’d like to finish a Dylan song. He sat down with us, and told us how Dylan’s camp had sent over some incomplete song demos for us to choose from. To hear songs in that state is always a fragile, intimate moment. Each demo was magical — Bob was humming along in places where he didn’t have lyrics, almost making it up as he went along. It was a surreal moment, and one we felt humbled by and undeserving of.”

“We chose a saucy song of his to work on, one with a somewhat jazzy feel. All the credit must go to Bob. The skeleton of the song was brilliant, all it needed was a handful of lyrics. We took it to our hotel that night, and finished the song within a couple of hours. The next day we tracked it, and it’s actually the first song we’ve ever written, recorded and released in which we never once sang harmony. The feel of the song is also very different from our normal sound, but somehow, in all of his brilliance, Bob created something that spoke to us, and the song truly feels as though it was meant to be on this record. We owe him so much gratitude and respect, and are humbled that he gave us such a gift.” .

The Secret Sisters will open for the newly reunited bluegrass trio Nickel Creek this spring. Check out tour dates below, and pre-order Put Your Needle Down here.

R0le Models: The Secret Sisters

Put Your Needle Down Track Listing:

1. Rattle My Bones
2. Iuka
3. Dirty Lie
4. The Pocket Knife
5. Let There Be Lonely
6. Black And Blue
7. Lonely Island
8. I Cannot Find A Way
9. If I Don’t
10. Good Luck Good Night Goodbye
11. Bad Habit
12. River Jordan

Secret Sisters Tour Dates:
4/16 Alabama Theater Birmingham, AL
4/17 Thomas Wolfe Auditorium Ashville, NC
4/18 Ryman Auditorium Nashville, TN
4/19 Ryman Auditorium Nashville, TN
4/21 Track 29 Chattanooga, TN
4/22 Johnny Mercer Theater Savannah, GA
4/24 NC Performing Arts Center North Charleston, SC
4/25 Tabernacle Atlanta, GA
4/26 nTelos Wireless Pavilion Charlottesville, VA
4/27 Tennessee Theatre Knoxville, TN
4/29 Beacon Theatre New York, NY
5/01 House of Blues Boston, MA
5/02 Keswick Theatre Glenside, PA
5/03 9:30 Club Washington, DC
5/04 9:30 Club Washington, DC
5/06 Taft Theatre Cincinnati, OH
5/08 Egyptian Room Indianapolis, IN
5/09 Riviera Theater Chicago, IL
5/10 Pabst Theater Milwaukee, WI
5/11 State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
5/13 Ogden Theatre Denver, CO
5/14 Kingsbury Hall Salt Lake City, UT
5/16 Crystal Ballroom Portland, OR
5/17 Moore Theatre Seattle, WA
5/19 Fox Theater Oakland, CA
5/20 Balboa Theatre San Diego, CA
5/21 The Wiltern Los Angeles, CA


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Daily Discovery: Nick D’ & the Believers, “Find A Little Love”